Meet Derrick Eason, Author and Illustrator

Some people know him as
Derrick Eason.

And then again some people know him by his Bruce Wayne-esque alter ego, DMEason. But regardless of what you call him, he’s a talented young artist and storyteller.

And he’s here today to do a little Q&A about his new children’s book, Follow the Bouncing Ball.

  1. How long have you been an illustrator?
    I’ve been illustrating since I was about 11 or so.  My best friend and I used to create our own comic books out of copy paper and staple them together. We also wrote and illustrated our own books. But, I’ve been drawing as far back as I can remember.
  2. Did you always know you wanted to illustrate books for children, or did that genre come into focus once you became a father?
    I never thought about illustrating children’s books. I guess comic books are for kids, also, but I didn’t see it that way. As far as books like Follow the Bouncing Ball, the answer is no. I didn’t think–nor did I want–to write or illustrate anything like that. When I became a father I began to read more children’s books, and it inspired me to create one for my son.
  3. Does your son like to draw, too?
    Come on, do Michael Jordan’s sons play basketball? Just kidding … Yes, he does draw and is quite good at it too. I’ve been pretty good at not pushing him to much with his drawing. I want him to continue to freely express himself with his drawings; we’ll get into refining his skills a little later. The truth is, I have many talented people in my family who can draw and do many other creative things.
  4. Who are your biggest influences as an artist?
    My biggest influences, wow there are a few. Let’s go back to the Renaissance Era with Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. Then you have Van Gogh. Lastly, one of my favorites: Pablo Picasso. Many of these guys had more than one artistic talent. I also, write, draw, paint, sculpt, and animate … I just love to create. As far as comic books go, I’ve always liked Todd McFarlane, Jim Lee, Joe Madureira, Ryan Ottley, Travis Charest, and so many others. The thing is, these artists don’t draw in the same style–they are all pretty different. I think what inspires me the most is when I see someone who knows their craft and works hard at being the best at that style as possible. It pushes me to raise the bar for myself and go to the next level.
  5. Do you find comic books or children’s books easier to write and illustrate, and why?
    Well, they’re different–it’s not like one is easier than the other. It’s like watching Dora and then watching Dragon Ball Z. They are both cartoons, both made for kids. But one just reveals more to the audience than the other. I think to write and illustrate either one takes some thought and preparation. You want to get your message across and keep their attention, also. So I would say that they are both challenging.
  6. Do you illustrate by hand, on paper, or on the computer?
    Yes. All of the Above. 🙂
  7. How did you prepare for life as an artist?
    I made sure the umbilical cord wasn’t around my neck! Seriously … I don’t think I know how to answer that. This is what I am; I was “born that way”. I don’t know what it’s like to not be an artist.
  8. What’s the most interesting job you’ve ever had?
    Hands down:  911 Dispatcher.
  9. If you could travel anywhere and do anything while you were there, where would it be and what would you do?
    There’s a 100 different ways to answer that question. But, I will keep it light and say that I would go to Sesame Street and hang out with Elmo.
  10. Who would win: Superman vs. Batman?
    Batman, he has a Kryptonite ring that he keeps secured in the Batcave in case Superman ever loses control of his powers or if he falls under the control of an evil influence.

Thanks Derrick! If you’re in or around the Triangle area tomorrow, swing by the beautiful, historic Halle Cultural Arts Center in downtown Apex for the launch party. You’ll have a ball!

~ ~ ~

Follow the Bouncing Ball : Children’s Book Launch
Written and Illustrated by D.M. Eason

Saturday, April 14, 2012

12 – 2 pm FREE

Games, prizes and lots of bouncing balls!

Join Kicker, the bouncing ball in a Pre K – Kindergarten counting adventure in English and Spanish!
at the Halle Cultural Arts Center, downtown Apex NC

 

One thought on “Meet Derrick Eason, Author and Illustrator

Leave a Reply

