Part Two = the end of an era

I was excited to catch Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 yesterday, but found myself feeling a little blue as realization hit: my son’s whole life, to date, has been contained in the Harry Potter era.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, as it was originally released in the UK, came out in 1997. But my son was seven months old when I bought my copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I can remember rocking in the chair in his nursery, watching him sleep peacefully in his crib while my imagination soared as high as the golden snitch with my head in the book.

But the mini me turned 13 in March, and on our year-round school schedule he started eighth grade last week … and now Harry Potter in his literary and big screen forms are finally finished. Sniff …

  • What series (books or movies, or both) were you sad to see end?
One thought on “Part Two = the end of an era

  1. Hi Dolly Dozier! I am equally as sad to see Harry Potter end. As a kid, I remember putting off reading the last Narnia book for weeks because I didn’t want them to end!

Leave a Reply

